The Park is named for the Winkelhaus Family, owners of the park property since 1903. VIEW .PDF FROM "MEMORIES" BOOKLET - EXCERPT ON THE HAMBURG HOTEL'S HISTORY
John and Bertha Winkelhaus bought the Hamburg House Hotel, originally built in 1835, and moved in on their wedding day in 1903. The Hotel provided temporary shelter to settlers and visitors to Hamburg and a home to the Winkelhaus family for over 50 years. "Granny Wink," as Bertha was known, was the last family member to live at the Hotel. When she passed away in 1962, the Hotel was left empty. It was destroyed by fire in 1968 and the property remained in the family, waiting for the time it could again provide a unique place in the lives of Hamburg residents and visitors.
Park Dedication - 2013
Just before the start of the 2013 annual Hamburg Memorial Day Parade, residents gathered at Winkelhaus Park in the Village of Hamburg to unveil the sign and welcome the new Park to town. Joining in the dedication were members of the Winkelhaus family, direct descendants of John and Bertha Winkelhaus. This park is now maintained by the Hamburg Township Parks & Recreation Department.
The Winkelhaus Park is a joint venture between the Winkelhaus family, the Hamburg Township Board of Trustees and the Hamburg Township Historical Society. It is a wonderful addition to our community park system and the Village of Hamburg. Future plans for the park are included in our Parks & Recreation Master Plan, but are up to the discretion of the property owners.
Want To Schedule A Special Event at the Gazebo at Winkelhaus Park?
If park use is desired for a special event, such as a family picnic or small wedding, please contact Deby Henneman, Parks & Rec Coordinator for Hamburg Township, at 810.222.1124 or via e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Updated: 11/15/21 DH